University of Washington-Seattle Campus
UW publishes 42% (Fall 2025 entering class). All First-Year Applicants (baseline for non-ca applicants got in at 47%; computer science/computer engineering (direct at 2%.
Acceptance rate
What UW's 42% is made of
The published rate averages groups with very different odds. These are the splits UW reports itself.
By college or major
Fall 2025 entering class (first-time, first-year applicants; CDS 2025-2026, Section C1)
Read the full decomposition →Part of Real Acceptance Rates, our series decomposing published rates from each school's own Common Data Set.
Testing
Test-Optional for 2026-27
- Policy
'The UW no longer requires SAT or ACT scores for most applicants' (test-optional for the general pool), but scores ARE required for homeschooled applicants and applicants from schools that do not issue standard letter/numeric grades.
- SAT middle 50%
- Not reported
- ACT middle 50%
- Not reported
- Average HS GPA
- 3.84Fall 2025 entering class (CDS 2025-26, item C12) · Source
Applying
Deadlines, essays and AI policy
- Early deadlines
- —
- Regular decision
- Nov 15, 2026Source
- Supplemental essays
- None beyond the personal statement
Only the Common App personal essay (650-word max, choice of 7 prompts) is required; UW has no additional supplemental essay for general first-year applicants.
- AI use in essays
Limited Use Allowed — applies to First-year application essay/personal statement (Common App essay submitted to UW)
“All writing in the application, including your essay/personal statement, must be your own original work. If you choose to have a parent, counselor, tutor, friend or AI tool review your writing, it must be done responsibly and ethically — again, it must be your own original work.”
Full cycle calendar: Application Deadlines.
At a glance
Size and cost
- Undergraduate enrollment
- 31,942
- Tuition (out-of-state)
- $43,209
- Category
- Top Public
- Admissions site
- www.washington.edu
What should this school mean for your list?
A published rate is one input. Working out what it means alongside the rest of your list is the part that actually changes an application. Free 25-minute call, no commitment.
Sources
- UW test policy (2026-27)
- UW deadlines
- UW GPA (Fall 2025 entering class (CDS 2025-26, item C12))
- UW AI-use policy
- UW admissions pages
- UW admissions pages
- Acceptance rate, test-score percentiles, enrollment and tuition: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, pulled 2026-08-19.
Test policy and deadlines last verified 2026-08-17.
Is this school right for your student?
Talk through UW with an advisor.
Tell us about your student and we'll tell you whether UW is a reach, a target or a likely, and what would change that.
Book my free consult