College profilesTop Public · CA

University of California-Los Angeles

UCLA publishes 9.0% (Fall 2024 first-time, first-year applicants). Herb Alpert School of Music applicants got in at 24%; school of nursing at 0.5%.

Acceptance rate
9%
College Scorecard, latest cycle
SAT middle 50%
Not published
ACT middle 50%
Not published
Avg. HS GPA
4.20–4.30 (weighted)
Fall 2026 admitted first-year class (UC systemwide admissions snapshot)
Test policy
Test-Blind
2026-27
Regular deadline
Nov 30, 2026 (UC's single filing deadline for all campuses; the UC system has no separate early action/decision plans)

Acceptance rate

What UCLA's 9.0% is made of

The published rate averages groups with very different odds. These are the splits UCLA reports itself.

By college or major

24%
Herb Alpert School of Music
0.5%
School of Nursing

Fall 2024 first-time, first-year applicants (UCLA Common Data Set 2024-25, Section C1)

Read the full decomposition →

Transfer

23%
Transfer applicants
9.4%
First-year applicants

Fall 2025 transfer entrants (UCLA Common Data Set 2025-26, Section D2) · as of August 2026 · 2.5× easier than first-year

Read the transfer analysis →

Part of Real Acceptance Rates, our series decomposing published rates from each school's own Common Data Set.

Testing

Test-Blind for 2026-27

Policy

All UC campuses, including UCLA, have been permanently test-blind since fall 2021 entry per UC Board of Regents/Academic Senate action. SAT/ACT scores are not considered for admission or scholarships even if voluntarily submitted.

SAT middle 50%
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Average HS GPA
4.20–4.30 (weighted)Fall 2026 admitted first-year class (UC systemwide admissions snapshot) · Source

Applying

Deadlines, essays and AI policy

Early deadlines
Regular decision
Nov 30, 2026 (UC's single filing deadline for all campuses; the UC system has no separate early action/decision plans)Source
Supplemental essays
4 required

The shared UC application requires answers to 4 of 8 Personal Insight Questions (350 words each); the same 4 responses go to every UC campus the student applies to.

AI use in essays

No Official Policy

We reviewed the UC systemwide application pages that govern UCLA's application (Personal Insight Questions, filling out the application, how applications are reviewed) and UCLA's own admission site — no applicant AI policy published.

Full cycle calendar: Application Deadlines.

At a glance

Size and cost

Undergraduate enrollment
33,475
Tuition (out-of-state)
$49,403
Category
Top Public
Admissions site
www.ucla.edu

Dewey Smart

Dewey students who got into UCLA

6

Dewey students admitted to UCLA, Classes of 2024, 2025 & 2026.

All results →
20

articles about applying to UCLA.

Read them →

Mentors who got into UCLA

Our mentors who go to UCLA, or just graduated from it.

What should this school mean for your list?

A published rate is one input. Working out what it means alongside the rest of your list is the part that actually changes an application. Free 25-minute call, no commitment.

Book my free consult

Sources

Test policy and deadlines last verified 2026-08-17.

Is this school right for your student?

Talk through UCLA with an advisor.

Tell us about your student and we'll tell you whether UCLA is a reach, a target or a likely, and what would change that.

Book my free consult

We respect your privacy. No spam, ever.