
University of California-Berkeley
UC Berkeley publishes 11% (Fall 2025 entering first-time first-year class). Rausser College of Natural Resources applicants got in at 18%; haas school of business at 5.2%.
Acceptance rate
What UC Berkeley's 11% is made of
The published rate averages groups with very different odds. These are the splits UC Berkeley reports itself.
By college or major
Fall 2025 entering first-time first-year class (Common Data Set 2025-2026, Section C1)
Read the full decomposition →Transfer
Fall 2025 transfer applicants (CDS 2025-26, Section D1) · as of August 2026 · 2.1× easier than first-year
Read the transfer analysis →Part of Real Acceptance Rates, our series decomposing published rates from each school's own Common Data Set.
Testing
Test-Blind for 2026-27
- Policy
All UC campuses, including Berkeley, have been permanently test-blind since fall 2021 entry per UC Board of Regents/Academic Senate action. SAT/ACT scores are not considered for admission or scholarships even if voluntarily submitted.
- SAT middle 50%
- Not reported
- ACT middle 50%
- Not reported
- Average HS GPA
- 4.16–4.28 (weighted)Fall 2026 admitted first-year class (UC systemwide admissions snapshot) · Source
Applying
Deadlines, essays and AI policy
- Early deadlines
- —
- Regular decision
- Nov 30, 2026 (UC's single filing deadline for all campuses; the UC system has no separate early action/decision plans)Source
- Supplemental essays
- 4 required
The shared UC application requires answers to 4 of 8 Personal Insight Questions (350 words each); the same 4 responses go to every UC campus the student applies to.
- AI use in essays
No Official Policy
We reviewed Berkeley's Personal Insight Questions guidance, application tips, and application FAQs, plus the UC systemwide application site that governs them — no applicant AI policy published.
Full cycle calendar: Application Deadlines.
At a glance
Size and cost
- Undergraduate enrollment
- 33,068
- Tuition (out-of-state)
- $50,547
- Category
- Top Public
- Admissions site
- www.berkeley.edu
Dewey Smart
Dewey students who got into UC Berkeley
What should this school mean for your list?
A published rate is one input. Working out what it means alongside the rest of your list is the part that actually changes an application. Free 25-minute call, no commitment.
Sources
- UC Berkeley test policy (2026-27)
- UC Berkeley deadlines
- UC Berkeley GPA (Fall 2026 admitted first-year class (UC systemwide admissions snapshot))
- UC Berkeley admissions pages
- UC Berkeley admissions pages
- Acceptance rate, test-score percentiles, enrollment and tuition: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, pulled 2026-08-19.
Test policy and deadlines last verified 2026-08-17.
Is this school right for your student?
Talk through UC Berkeley with an advisor.
Tell us about your student and we'll tell you whether UC Berkeley is a reach, a target or a likely, and what would change that.
Book my free consult