San Diego State University
San Diego State publishes 37% (Fall 2025). Out-of-State applicants got in at 91%; in-state (california resident) at 31%.
Acceptance rate
What San Diego State's 37% is made of
The published rate averages groups with very different odds. These are the splits San Diego State reports itself.
Part of Real Acceptance Rates, our series decomposing published rates from each school's own Common Data Set.
Testing
Test scores at San Diego State
- SAT middle 50%
- Not reported
- ACT middle 50%
- Not reported
- Average HS GPA
- 3.84Fall 2024 enrolled first-year students (CDS 2024-25) · Source
At a glance
Size and cost
- Undergraduate enrollment
- 35,377
- Tuition (out-of-state)
- $21,328
- Category
- Public
- Admissions site
- www.sdsu.edu
What should this school mean for your list?
A published rate is one input. Working out what it means alongside the rest of your list is the part that actually changes an application. Free 25-minute call, no commitment.
Sources
- San Diego State GPA (Fall 2024 enrolled first-year students (CDS 2024-25))
- Acceptance rate, test-score percentiles, enrollment and tuition: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, pulled 2026-08-19.
Is this school right for your student?
Talk through San Diego State with an advisor.
Tell us about your student and we'll tell you whether San Diego State is a reach, a target or a likely, and what would change that.
Book my free consult