California Institute of Technology

California Institute of Technology SAT and ACT Requirements

California Institute of Technology requires SAT or ACT scores for the 2026-27 cycle. It does not report a score range for enrolled students.

2026-27 policy

Required

SAT middle 50%

Not reported

ACT middle 50%

Not reported

Acceptance rate

2.6%

Keep these numbers

Email me California Institute of Technology's score ranges

The ranges on this page, plus a link to compare them with every other college we track.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe anytime.

Frequently asked questions

Does California Institute of Technology require the SAT or ACT?

California Institute of Technology requires SAT or ACT scores for the 2026-27 cycle. Caltech reinstated required SAT/ACT testing in 2024 (effective for the Class of 2029 cycle) and it remains required for 2026-27 (Class of 2031). Caltech uses a 'bucket' system that masks exact scores above certain thresholds (Bucket A: SAT 780-800/ACT 35-36; Bucket B: SAT 750-770/ACT 33-34 — exact number hidden); only scores below SAT 750/ACT 33 are shown exactly to reviewers. No minimum score and no preferred test.

Score ranges: College Scorecard API — U.S. Department of Education (api.data.gov) and Editorial overrides layer (overrides.json) — Common Data Set & institutional sources. They describe students who enrolled, not everyone admitted. Test policy: California Institute of Technology admissions, verified for 2026-27.